Certified by AutoVitals


5 star rating
Ann C. from WASHINGTON, DC on 9/19/2019 for an auto repair of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Ben’s auto shop is by far the best auto service repair and management I have ever received. True caring professional who absolutely demonstrate expertise with every problem I have brought them. They also extend themselves to render prompt service and. professional expertise. I think Frank’s exceptional leadership and management encourages his staff to be the true pros that we need. Andrew and Cory always provide exceptional, mechanical skills I feel extremely pleased that I have best auto service I have received in 40 plus years Needless to say , my whole family has become customers."
5 star rating
Eric P. from Washington, DC on 7/16/2019 for an auto service of their Hyundai and their testimonial is:
"I love the text message updates during the day. Very friendly, and right here in the neighborhood."
5 star rating
Charles M. from Washington, DC on 7/3/2019 for an auto repair of their Honda and their testimonial is:
"That I am very satisfied with the service even more so since its new owners took over the operation."
5 star rating
Aiesha from Washington, DC on 7/1/2019 for an auto service of their Honda and their testimonial is:
"Very thorough and knowledgeable"
5 star rating
Vincent H. from WASHINGTON, DC on 6/28/2019 for an auto repair of their Mercedes-Benz and their testimonial is:
"Reliable and candid updates."
5 star rating
Betty H. from WASHINGTON, DC on 6/24/2019 for an auto repair of their Nissan and their testimonial is:
"I would tell anyone that the service was great and that the personnel were helpful as well as polite!"
5 star rating
Rachel B. from WASHINGTON, DC on 6/17/2019 for an auto service of their Ford and their testimonial is:
"I have always been pleased with the work 10th Street Auto has provided. They’ve always been upfront and straightforward about everything, and always call if they see extra repairs to ask how you want to proceed."
5 star rating
Anne Marie C. from WASHINGTON, DC on 6/14/2019 for an auto repair of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Amazing! The manager was very helpful with a physical disability I had n I appreciate that. He and the mechanic were knowledgeable, efficient, helpful, courteous . I shall definitely be returning for all my auto’s issues. Highly recommend!!!!!"
5 star rating
Jim W. from Washington, DC on 6/9/2019 for an auto service of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Great place, have always been satisfied (previous owner also). I like the improvement to the building, office and the new website with inspection report and photos is very helpful."
5 star rating
Marcia from Washington, DC on 6/4/2019 for an auto service of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Very knowledgeable, convenient. Very willing to explain problem and procedure necessary."
5 star rating
Bruce P. from MT PLEASANT, PA on 5/28/2019 for an auto repair of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Broke down on Memorial Day near Union Station. Called at 8:00 AM Tuesday. After consulting with Frank I was able to drive the car in. Problem was verified, price fair price quoted and three hours later I was on my way. The whole experience was "as right as rain""
5 star rating
Justin S. from Washington, DC on 5/25/2019 for an auto repair of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Recommend highly. Fair price, great service and they do their best to get your car repaired as quickly as possible."
5 star rating
James from Washington, DC on 5/15/2019 for an auto repair of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Frank is very nice and professional. Highly recommend this shop."
5 star rating
Helena from Washington, DC on 5/13/2019 for an auto service of their Toyota and their testimonial is:
"Wow this shop is awesome. Fast and friendly service. Thank you"
5 star rating
Sandra I. from Washington, DC on 5/4/2019 for an auto service of their Honda and their testimonial is:
"Excellent, fast and friendly."
5 star rating
David P. from Washington, DC on 5/2/2019 for an auto repair of their Chevrolet and their testimonial is:
"I would recommend them -- Great customer service and very accommodating"
5 star rating
Will from Washington, DC on 4/19/2019 for an auto repair of their Honda and their testimonial is:
"Took me, an out of town we, on short notice on a weekend. Thorough and efficient use of their labor time/rate. Excellent communications."
5 star rating
Eric K. from BUDA, TX on 4/11/2019 for an auto repair of their Honda and their testimonial is:
"Very professional- meticulous workmanship & the team went above & beyond expectations"
5 star rating
Deborah B. from Washington, DC on 3/6/2019 for an auto service of their Honda and their testimonial is:
"I’d recommend the shop as the staff is professional, responsive and courteous. Prices seem competitive and the online tools help to keep you apprised is the work progress in real time."
5 star rating
Jerome A. J. from WASHINGTON, DC on 3/5/2019 for an auto repair of their Audi and their testimonial is:
"I have recently had some tires replaced at this repair shop, and they have actually gone out of their way to find the tires that I wanted and placed them on the vehicle in a timely manner. The staff are very professional and friendly, and would be glad to recommend them to my family and friends!"
5 star rating
Dan H. from WASHINGTON, DC on 2/19/2019 for an auto repair of their Audi and their testimonial is:
"Long time customer of the Skyline location, thrilled they have a DC location now. Great customer service, reliable and efficient."
5 star rating
Erica from Washington, DC on 2/13/2019 for an auto service of their Audi and their testimonial is:
"Love them! Definitely worth the money and time. Friendly, super clean shop and very accommodating."
5 star rating
Margie K. from CLIFTON, VA on 1/11/2019 for an auto service of their Subaru and their testimonial is:
"Excellent service all around!"
5 star rating
David P. from Washington, DC on 1/11/2019 for an auto service of their Chevrolet and their testimonial is:
"Very good and accommodating service"
5 star rating
Bruce C. from Washington, DC on 12/23/2018 for an auto service of their Subaru and their testimonial is:
"This is the third owner of 10th Street Auto Repair I’ve dealt with over many years on Capitol Hill. The new ownership team has turned this shop around. Outstanding customer interface and communications, and excellent performance in the mechanics’ bays. Highly recommended!"
5 star rating
Edwin G. from Washington, DC on 11/20/2018 for an auto repair of their Mazda and their testimonial is:
"Mr Frank .. Mr James and Mr Andrew very customer service. They take the time to explain what’s wrong with your vehicle. In just hours my car was fix it."
5 star rating
Vincent H. from WASHINGTON, DC on 11/16/2018 for an auto repair of their Mercedes-Benz and their testimonial is:
"It's excellent!"

Ben Nielsen's 10th Street Automotive
4.6
Based on 179 reviews
powered by Google
Marsha Martin
Marsha Martin
08:52 20 May 20
Great people, very clear and helped to make decisions about which repairs were necessary. I have a 14 y/o car and... need to take a 14 hr road trip so their expert advice about repairs was important. I will be making the trip in 14 days so checking with them before I hit the road was important. Repairs completed in a timely fashion. All good. Thank you.read more
Don and Laura Whittaker
Don and Laura Whittaker
23:43 18 May 20
Today was my first visit. I have had many cars and taken them to many garages in my lifetime, but this experience was... the easiest, timeliest, and most professional of them all. I had numerous items that needed catching up on with my Toyota and I feel they took care of each of them to perfection and at a very good price. I certainly will be back and will highly recommend these folks to others. Thanks for a job well done.read more
S P
S P
13:56 14 May 20
They are very quick to get you in, and I have never needed to leave my car there more than a few hours. Very... professional while still being friendly. Upfront about prices.read more
Bill Mason
Bill Mason
11:58 14 May 20
Great Repair service, friendly people, Very Professional, great price! If you need work done on your car in the... Capital Hill area of DC, pick these guys! They will do you right!read more
Ryan Cahill
Ryan Cahill
01:54 14 May 20
Dion took care of us every step of the way and even came to us to help try to jumpstart the car during the pandemic.... The shop works very efficiently and they seem very honest. I’ve found it’s very easy to get ripped off at auto shops in DC but feel a sense of trust with this team.read more
Tamara Wilkerson
Tamara Wilkerson
01:23 05 Apr 20
Love this place! I usually go to the Skyline Automotive location in Falls Church, but decided to try out the DC... location. You may drive past unless you were specifically looking for it - so when you go, keep your eyes peeled! Overall, knowledgeable and attentive staff, comfortable seating room. There are windows on 2 of 4 walls so you can see the shop during work. I went in for an oil change for my Jeep, but I'd highly recommend this place for basic or more advanced work. Ask for Dion, he's been in the industry for a long time and knows his stuff!read more
Lavore Carter
Lavore Carter
23:24 23 Mar 20
I found this place just doing a general search looking a for a repair shop. I enjoyed frank customer service, From the... moment we spoke on the phone from the moment I met him in person. All the gentleman were just that awesome with explaining anything with along with their customer service which was again awesome. I didn’t plan on spending the money that I did,Lol... but I believe they told me the right thing information to get my car running well. I appreciate their help and I look forward to doing business with them in the future. Keep up the great work guys!!!!read more
Ben Pitler
Ben Pitler
13:24 18 Mar 20
I took my company car here to check on some squeaky brakes, which were repaired several months ago at a different shop... that has since closed. They took the weekend to evaluate and confirmed that this is a standard sound and the new brake pads just need some "breaking" in (no pun intended). Best of all, no charge for their evaluation since they didn't make any repairs! Nice dudes.read more
Dan Evans
Dan Evans
15:44 20 Feb 20
Update: After posting the review, Frank contacted me, apologized for the confusion on his part, and refunded me what I... had to pay. Original: I had been to Nielsen's in the past year and spent a substantial amount for a quick repair, so I was happy when they had sent me a $100 gift card at Christmastime. Recently, I was due for an oil change, and Nielsen was running a special on oil changes ($105 for oil, tire rotation, and wiper blades), so I figured it was a good time. When dropping off my car, I confirmed with two of the employees at the desk that the gift card could be combined with the service I was asking for, and that there were no stipulations. They said it would be good and they held onto the card for me. About an hour after dropping off the car, I received a call and they tell me I cannot combine the gift card with the special. I either pay the $105 out of pocket, or pay full price for the oil change package (about $180) and use the gift card. I ask to just have an oil change, none of the extras, so I can use the gift card. They tell me it will be about $85 and we confirm this together. A few hours pass, and I receive a call stating that the car is ready for me, and my total is about $85. Upon picking up the car, I am told the total is now $147. I explain how we had agreed on the phone before work was started that I only wanted the basic oil change, not the tire rotation or new wiper blades. They tell me that was never communicated to them; this is hard to believe considering the phone calls agreeing to $85 before work was started, and the call when work was finished saying my total was $85. I tried again to explain that I had only agreed to have an oil change performed, but the man did not budge and said my total was $147. Wait, wasn't the special supposed to be $105? At this point they tell me I can apply the gift card to the $147 and pay the difference. I used to think these guys were great at communicating to the customer what was being performed on your vehicle and the work to be performed before going forward, but this has changed my mind. Their price was double the market rate to begin with, and they just needed some more it seems. TLDR; Nielsen performed work on my car I didn't agree to after multiple phone calls saying what to be performed and what my bill would be. They wouldn't honor the agreement and charged me nearly double what was quoted.read more
Forrest Smith
Forrest Smith
02:18 14 Jan 20
I cannot begin to express how great Frank and the team were! I found them quick on Google and it was my first time... working with them and they treated me like I had been coming to the shop for years! I came in with a boat load of issues after purchasing a used car and Frank and his team were so welcoming and very open and honest with the repairs I needed! I felt like they did their best to ensure they did the most cost effective method for repairs and provided great advice!! I would recommend this shop to anyone and I will for sure be back for routine maintenance!read more
R Bertaut
R Bertaut
23:19 05 Jan 20
They were very helpful in unraveling problems caused by another service shop. They are very honest and... straightforward. Communications were easy (via email and phone), and their prices seem quite reasonable. I will definitely recommend them to my friends.read more
Jay Frost
Jay Frost
15:58 26 Nov 19
The folks here were very easy to work with and helped me save money on my car repairs where another local shop had... given me an estimate that was almost double what I paid here. Coming back for sure! (though hopefully not too often ...)read more
Julie Longson
Julie Longson
19:16 21 Nov 19
I brought my old Toyota to Ben Nielsen's because of the positive reviews online and I'm glad I did. Staff was very... friendly and knowledgeable. I loved that they were able to work on my very old low tech car (many shops won't work on it anymore) but their communication was high tech. Their thorough diagnostic report complete with pictures and explanations was sent in a link to my phone.... very convenient! A technician took the time to explain what I needed and why. The end result was my car was back on the road at a very reasonable cost. Due to Ben Nielsen's customer service and quality of work I now have a new service center for my car.read more
Next Reviews